The Most Folk Metal Flute: 18 Songs Featuring a Flute

Musicngear presents 18 of our favorite folk metal songs that prominently feature a flute. The list is in no particular order. Enjoy!

By Eugenia RoditisMusicngear Editor

Article photo - The Most Folk Metal Flute: 18 Songs Featuring a Flute

Follow The Most Folk Metal Flute Playlist on Spotify

1. Eluveitie - "Inis Mona"

Eluveitie is a Swiss folk metal band from Winterthur, Zürich, founded in 2002 by Chrigel Glanzmann. Current band members are: Chrigel Glanzmann – harsh vocals, mandola, whistles, pipes, gaita, acoustic guitar, bodhrán, harp, sitar, Kay Brem – bass, Rafael Salzmann – lead guitar, Nicole Ansperger violin, backing vocals, Matteo Sisti – bagpipes, tin whistles, Jonas Wolf – rhythm guitar, Alain Ackermann – drums, Michalina Malisz – hurdy-gurdy, Fabienne Erni – clean vocals, Celtic harp.

Follow Eluveitie on Facebook and Twitter

2. Leshak - "Marjushka"

Leshak is a Folk/Death Metal band from Moscow, Russia formed in 2006. Band's line up is: Redgoat - guitar, Frontline - vocals, Owl - bass,  Funt- vocal,percussion, Napalm-guitar, Prorubono - vocal,samples, Anakharsis -drums. 

Follow Leshak on Facebook

3. Månegarm - "Nattväsen"

Månegarm is a Swedish Viking/black/folk metal band from Norrtälje formed in 1995. Band members are: Erik Grawsiö - Drums, Vocals, Bass, Markus Andé - Guitar, Jacob Hallegren - Drums.

Follow Månegarm on Facebook and Twitter

4. Hantaoma - "Malombra"

Hantaoma is a folk-metal band from France, formed in 1997. Current line up is: Thomas Marasi - Drums, Patrice Roques - Vocals, Guitars, Guitars (acoustic), Fiddle, Bouzouki, Mandolin, Patrick Lafforgue - Vocals, Guitars, Shawm, Bombard, Flute, Crumhorn, Hurdy-gurdy, Fëarann - Bass, Bagpipes, Oboe, Baptiste Labenne - Guitars (rhythm).

Follow Hantaoma on Facebook

5. Arkona - "Nevidal" (The Wonder)

Arkona is a Russian folk metal band formed in 2002 in Moscow, Russia. Members are: Maria "Masha Scream" Arkhipova – vocals, keyboards, Sergei "Lazar" Atrashkevich – guitars, Ruslan "Kniaz" Rosomaherov – bass, Vladimir "Volk" Reshetnikov – wind ethnic instruments.

Follow Arkona on Facebook and Twitter

6. Metsatöll - "Kuu"

Metsatöll is an Estonian heavy metal band formed in 1999 in Tallinn, Estonia. Current lineup is: Markus "Rabapagan" Teeäär – lead vocals, rhythm guitar, Lauri "Varulven" Õunapuu – guitar, lead vocals, traditional instruments, Raivo "KuriRaivo" Piirsalu – bass, backing vocals, contrabass, Tõnis Noevere – drums, backing vocals.

Follow Metsatöll on Facebook and Twitter

7. Korpiklaani - "Crows Bring The Spring"

Korpiklaani is a folk metal band from Finland formed in 1993. Band members are: Jonne Järvelä – vocals, guitars, Kalle "Cane" Savijärvi – guitars, Jarkko Aaltonen – bass, Tuomas Rounakari – violin, Sami Perttula – accordion, Samuli Mikkonen – drums.

Follow Korpiklaani  on Facebook and Twitter

8. Grai - "The song about Native Land"

Grai is a folk metal band formed in 2005 in Russia. Current band members are: Irina Zybina - vocal, Aliya "Leta" - flute, vocal, Ilnur Zarev - drums, Dani "Skorb" - bass, Vitold Buznaev - growl, guitar, Ruzveld Grai - guitar.

Follow Grai on Facebook and Twitter

9.  Munarheim - "Dein ist der Tag"

Munarheim is a black symphonic folk metal band from Coburg, Bavaria formed in 2007. Current lineup is: Julius Heymann - Bass, Wolfgang Mehringer - Drums, Ramona Müller - Flute, Sabine Götze - Flute, Whistles, Helge Pohl - Guitars, Christoph Witter - Guitars, Theresa Trebes - Guitars (acoustic), Vocals (backing), Sebastian Braun - Guitars, Guitars (acoustic), Keyboards, Vocals (backing), Pascal Pfannenschmidt - Vocals, Lyrics.

Follow Munarheim on Facebook

10. Waylander - "Born to the Fight"

Waylander is a Northern Irish folk metal band formed in 1993 in Armagh, Northern Ireland. Band members are: Ciaran O'Hagan - vocals, Saul McMichael - guitars, Lee McCartney - drums, Dave Briggs - tin whistle, Irish bouzouki, mandolin and bodhrán, Tor Dennison - guitars, Steve Reynolds - bass.

Follow Waylander on Facebook and Twitter

11. Temnozor - "White Thunder Roars"

Temnozor is a Russian folk/black metal band from Moscow, formed in Obninsk in 1997. Current lineup is Gorruth - lyrics, Ratibor - flute, vocals, Svyagir - guitars, bass, keyboards, drums, P. Noir - vocals.

Follow Temnozor on Facebook

12. Wuthering Heights - "The Road Goes Ever On"

Wuthering Heights is a Danish Progressive/Power/Folk Metal band formed in 1989 by guitarist and songwriter Erik Ravn. Band members are: Erik Ravn – guitar, bass, keyboards, vocals, Morten Gade Sørensen – drums, percussion, Nils Patrik Johansson – vocals, Teddy Möller – bass, vocals, Andreas Lindhal – keyboards, Martin Arendal – guitar. 

Follow Wuthering Heights on Facebook

13. KRANIUM - "El Obraje"

KRANIUM is a Folk/Doom/Death Metal band formed in Peru in 1984. Current lineup is: Eloy Arturo - guitars (lead), songwriting, Mito Espíritu - guitars (rhythm), wind instruments, charango, bass, Dennis Yamazato - drums, Ian Chang - bass, Christian Meléndez - keyboards, vocals.

Follow KRANIUM on Facebook and Twitter

14. Finntroll - "Blodnatt"

Finntroll is a folk metal band from Helsinki, Finland formed in 1997. Line- up: Vreth – vocals, Routa – guitars, Skrymer – guitars, Trollhorn – keyboards, guitar, Virta – keyboards, Tundra – bass, MörkÖ – drums.

Follow Finntroll on Facebook and Twitter

15. Ensiferum - "Wanderer"

Ensiferum is a Finnish folk metal band formed in Helsinki in 1995. Current band members are: Markus Toivonen – guitars, backing vocals, clean vocals, Petri Lindroos – harsh vocals, guitars, Sami Hinkka – bass, clean vocals, Janne Parviainen – drums, Pekka Montin – keyboards, clean vocals.

Follow Ensiferum on Facebook and Twitter

16. Moonsorrow - "Kaiku"

Moonsorrow is a Folk/Pagan/Black Metal band formed in Helsinki in 1995. The band consists of: Ville Sorvali - vocals, bass, Henri Sorvali - guitars, keyboards, Marko Tarvonen - drums, Mitja Harvilahti - guitars, Markus Eurén - keyboards, Janne Perttilä - guitars

Follow Moonsorrow  on Facebook and Twitter

17. Svartsot - "Jotunheimsfærden"

Svartsot is a Danish folk metal band formed in 2005 in Randers, Denmark. Band members are: Thor Bager - Vocals, Hans-Jørgen Martinus Hansen - Irish whistles, mandolin, bagpipes, Cristoffer J.S. Frederiksen - lead guitar, mandolin, acoustic guitar, Michael Alm - Rhythm guitar, Frederik Uglebjerg - drums, Simon Buje - Bass. 

Follow Svartsot on Facebook

18. Adorned Brood - "In Battle"

Adorned Brood is a folk black metal band from Neuss, Germany formed in 1993. Current line up is: Markus 'Teutobot' Frost - vocals, bass guitar, Thorsten Derks - guitar, Jan Jansohn - guitars, Niklas Enns - keyboards, Anne - flute, Mischa Kliege - drums,

Follow Adorned Brood on Facebook and Twitter

Browse our collection of Flutes

In this series: The Most Heavy Metal Charango, The Most Death Metal SaxophoneThe Most Heavy Metal BagpipeThe Most Heavy Metal ViolinThe Most Heavy Metal Banjo, and The Most Heavy Metal Harp​​​​​

Spotify Playlist

YouTube Playlist

Community Suggestions

Heol Telwen - "Ar Korrigan Du"

Tengger Cavalry - "Electric Shaman"

Shaman - "For Tomorrow"

Insomnia Continuum - "Insomnia"

Do you know of any other folk metal bands featuring a flute in their songs? Tell us in the comments below and we'll make sure to add them!

About Eugenia Roditis

Eugenia's passion for music was ignited from an early age as she grew up in a family of musicians. She loves attending concerts and festivals, while constantly seeking fresh and exciting new artists across diverse genres. Eugenia joined the MusicnGear team in 2012.

Contact Eugenia Roditis at

About Music Spotlight

In this blog section we host new music releases, artist features and handpicked playlists by the Musicngear staff.

Interested in a music feature, writing a story as a guest or joining the Musicngear team as a Contributing Author? Contact us at